Emergency Procedure Guide

Document in PDF Format

The College of Staten Island Emergency Procedure Guide was prepared by the College of Staten Island Department of Public Safety to assist members of the campus community to report and deal with on and off campus emergency situations 
appropriately. It combines current College of Staten Island policies and procedures along with recommended guidelines from various government agencies including the Federal Bureau of Investigation, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency, NYC Office of Emergency Management, NYC Fire Department, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, U.S. Postal Service and the Centers for Disease Control. While it is impossible to produce a document that is all-inclusive, this publication addresses the most common emergencies that have occurred in the past and those that may occur in the future. 

We all play a critical role during emergency response procedures. Students and visitors may not be thoroughly familiar with the campus, the hazards presented, or the procedures that should be followed to ensure their health and safety in the event of an emergency. They will depend on us for immediate direction and assistance. 

Please become familiar with this guide and review its contents at faculty and staff meetings. Your knowledge will make a difference during an emergency and could save lives.


If you have any questions concerning any of the information presented in this guide, please e-mail robert.wilson@csi.cuny.edu

Thank you.

Robert A. Wilson
Director of Public Safety


back to top


Reporting an Emergency
 

You can report an emergency in the following ways:

  • Call ext. 2111 to contact Public Safety, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
  • Call 911 to report emergencies directly to the New York City Police, Fire and Emergency dial Services. If calling 911 while on campus, also call Public Safety at x2111 so we can expedite the emergency response.
  • For smoke or fire, pull the Fire Alarm Pull Boxes, which are bright red in color, located adjacent to all fire exits. Lifting the cover and pulling down the handle activates the alarm. A signal is sent to the fire command station in the main lobby and to a central dispatch station that notifies the FDNY. When pulled, this device will also activate an audible fire alarm.
  • Public Safety Emergency Call Boxes are located in all campus buildings in corridors, stairwells and places of public assembly throughout the various campus buildings. Additionally, Blue Light Call Boxes are located throughout the college campus.

back to top


Emergency Phone Numbers

  • CSI Public Safety - 2111
  • NYPD / FDNY / EMS-AMBULANCE / HAZMAT Emergency – 911
  • NON-EMERGENCY - 311

On Campus Emergency Numbers

Public Safety Dispatch (24 Hour  )

718.982.2116

Director of Public Safety

718.982.2113

Asst. Director of Public Safety

718.982.2114

Environmental Health & Safety

718.982.3213

Campus Planning and Facilities (Office)

718.982.3210

Medical Assistance / Health Services

718.982.3045

Hotline / Help-Line Numbers

Poison Control

800.222.1222

Child Abuse Reporting Center

800.342.3720

Crisis Intervention Hotline

212.219.5599

Domestic Violence Hotline

800.621.HOPE

National Center for Missing & Exploited Children

800.843.5678

Safe Horizon Crisis (Crime Victims) Hotline

212.577.7777

Sex Crimes Report Line

646.610.7273

Local FDNY Fire Station

718.727.1100

 

121 Precinct - Non-Emergency Numbers

Precinct

718.697.8700

Community Affairs

718.697.8770

Crime Prevention

718.697.8758

Domestic Violence

718.697.8801

Youth Officer

718.697.8783

Detective Squad

718.697.8712

 

back to top


Active Shooter 

In the event that a person threatens the personal safety of members of our College community, the Department of Public Safety would like you to be aware of the guidelines for active shooter situations. This guide cannot cover every possible situation that might occur, but it is a tool that can reduce the number of injuries or deaths if put into action as soon as an intruder situation develops. An appropriate early response is the most important factor in the optimal management of these types of situations. 


Active Shooter on Campus 
When an active shooter or a hostile person is actively causing death or serious bodily injury or the threat of imminent death or serious bodily injury to a person within a building, we recommend the following procedures be implemented. 
You have three (3) basic options:

  • Evacuate - Run.
  • Run. If you think you can safely make it out of the building by running, then do so. If you decide to run, do not run a straight line.
  • Look and Listen to where the threat is. If you see members of the campus community fleeing from a particular area, this is a clear indication that the threat is in that area and may be coming towards you. Move away from the threat and away from the noise and commotion.
  • Lock yourself in - Hide. If you are near an office, lab or room that locks from the inside, this will be a good option. Remember most classrooms cannot be locked from the inside.
  • Remain as quiet and calm as possible.
  • Call 911 and Public Safety at 718.982.2111 or extension 2111.
  • Turn off lights and all audio equipment. Place cell phones on vibrate.
  • Lock all windows. Cover and stay away from windows or openings that have a direct line of sight into the hallway.
  • Remain under lockdown until advised by the Public Safety or NYPD law enforcement personnel that the crisis has been resolved.
  • Take action - Fight.
  • Engage as a last resort, when your life is in danger.  Act as aggressively as possible to incapacitate the shooter.  Use improvised weapons or throw items.
  • Commit to your actions.  The situation is not hopeless. 

Actions to Avoid :

  • Do not run in a straight line.
  • Do not sound the fire alarm
  • Do not scream

Whatever option that seems best for you; remember to call 911 and Public Safety at .718.982.2111 or direct at ext. 2111.  Obey all Public Safety and/or police commands and warn others.

 

back to top


Alcohol & Drug Abuse Crisis

An Alcohol and Drug Abuse Crisis can result from ingesting substances   haphazardly or beyond an individual’s normal ability to cope with the ingested amount or the consequence.

An alcohol or drug overdose can be rapidly fatal. Call Public Safety at ext. 2111 to request an ambulance if a person is:

  • Responding poorly to stimuli
  • Unconscious (no response to stimuli)
  • Having difficulty breathing
  • Out of control and a potential danger to self or others
  • If you aren’t sure about the physical well-being of the person

Before approaching or touching the person having an alcohol or drug abuse crisis, identify yourself to the individual and explain what you intend to do. Talk calmly in a non-challenging manner and orient individual to time, place, and condition if needed. Try to find out what the individual has consumed and how much, including whether alcohol was mixed with other drugs (prescription medication or illegal drugs) so responding emergency personnel can be informed.

Make certain someone stays with individual. If the individual wishes to lie down, have lie on/her side to avoid asphyxiation. If the person is convulsing, do not attempt to put any object in the mouth and do not restrain.

People who are under the influence of alcohol/drugs can be irrational and/or dangerous. NEVER PUT YOURSELF AT PHYSICAL RISK.

back to top


Bomb Threats

Bombings or threats of bombing are now harsh realities in today's world. While most bomb threats turn out to be hoaxes and most suspicious packages are harmless, it is important that all threats and suspicious objects be treated seriously. Time is of the essence when a bomb threat is received and we must be ready to react quickly and efficiently to minimize the risk of injury to students, staff, faculty and visitors. These guidelines are designed to help College of Staten Island community members prepare for the potential threat of explosive-related violence. These guidelines and a Bomb Threat Checklist should be kept next to every college telephone.
(Please Click Here for Bomb Threat Checklist in PDF format)

Telephone Threat Response - A calm response to a bomb threat caller could result in obtaining additional information. This is especially true if the caller wishes to avoid injuries or deaths. If told that the building is occupied or cannot be evacuated in time, the bomber may be willing to give more specific information on the bomb's location, components, or method of initiation. When a bomb threat is called in:

  • Keep the caller on the line aslong as possible. Do not interrupt except to ask the caller to speaklouder, slower or to repeat the message.
  • Record pertinent information on a Bomb Threat Checklist. Do not hang up until the caller hangs up.
  • If the caller does not indicatethe location of the bomb or time of possible detonation, ask him/her forthis information.
  • Inform the caller that the building is occupied and the detonation of a bomb can result in death or serious injury to many innocent people.
  • Pay particular attention to background noises, such as motors running, music playing, vehicle traffic and any other noise, which may give a clue as to the location of the caller.
  • Listen closely to the voice(male or female), the mood of the caller (calm, excited, despondent, etc.), accents or speech impediments.
  • Report the threat to Public Safety at ext. 2111 immediately after the caller hangs up. Public Safety will then implement its bomb threat response procedure.
  • Remain available in the event that law enforcement personnel want to interview you.

Written Threat Response - While written threats are usually associated with generalized threats and extortion attempts, a written warning of a specific device may occasionally be received.

  • Save all materials including the envelope.
  • Once the message is recognized as a threat, further unnecessary handling should be avoided in order to evidence.
  • Report the threat to Public Safety at ext. 2111. Public Safety will then implement its bomb threat response procedure.
  • Remain available in the event that law enforcement personnel want to interview you.

back to top


Bomb Threat Evacuations 

If it is determined that an evacuation is necessary, bomb threat evacuations at the college will follow a procedure similar to the one used for fire evacuations.

  • Take personal belongings such as purses, briefcases, knapsacks and shopping bags with you so they are not confused with suspicious packages by those conducting a bomb search.
  • Know your escape route in advance. Also be prepared to use an alternate exit in case your primary route is obstructed. Pay attention to all alarms and public address system announcements.
  • Follow instructions given by Building & Floor Coordinators, Fire Wardens, Searchers, Security, NYPD and FDNY personnel.
  • Never use an elevator to evacuate unless directed to do so by the Fire Department.
  • Once outside, move well away from the building, especially away from windows. Proceed to your Evacuation Assembly Location or alternate location if directed to do so by emergency personnel.

back to top


Building Coordinators & Fire Wardens

Building Coordinators and Floor Coordinators are designated by the College President as the primary point of contact with occupants in a particular building. Some of the duties of the Coordinators are:

  • Act as Fire Warden and assist in the orderly evacuation of the building. (Pursuant to NYFD Fire Code and NYS Education Law Section 807 ‑ Fire Drills).
  • Assist in identifying hazards and communicating repair needs to the appropriate campus authority.
  • Conduct building specific training and drills in conjunction with campus authorities.

The following is a listing of College of Staten Island Building Coordinators & Fire Wardens who are assigned to various locations in each building. Building Coordinators & Fire Wardens will assist in evacuating their designated section and then assist other coordinators until the entire building is evacuated.

North Quad Building Coordinators & Fire Wardens

Building / Floor

Name / email

Ext. / Room

1N    

1N
Primary Coordinator

Tracy Campbell 
tracy.campbell@csi.cuny.edu

3067
Room 107

1N
2nd Floor Coordinator

Orit Gruber 
orit.gruber@csi.cuny.edu

3015
Room 218

2N    

2N
Primary Coordinator

Calvin Holder 
calvin.holder@csi.cuny.edu

2880
Room 210

3N    

3N
Primary Coordinator

Loretta Campbell 
loretta.campbell@csi.cuny.edu

2945
Room 219A

3N
2nd Floor Coordinator
Warrick Bell 
warrick.bell@csi.cuny.edu
2932
Room 235
4N    

4N
Primary Coordinator

Allan Benimoff 
alan.benimoff@csi.cuny.edu

3048
Room 220

5N    

5N
Primary Coordinator

Jeffrey Rothman
jeffrey.rothman@csi.cuny.edu

2997
Room 203

5N
2nd Floor Coordinator

Deborah McNally
Deborah.McNally@csi.cuny.edu

3153
Room 207

South Quad Building Coordinators & Fire Wardens

Building / Floor Name Ext. / Room
1S    
1S
Primary Coordinator
Susan Massara 
susan.massara@csi.cuny.edu
3604
Room 215
1S
Alternate Coordinator
Marianne Orla 
marianne.orla@csi.cuny.edu
3609
Room 201
1S
Alternate Coordinator
Tues & Thurs
Michael Green
Michael.green@csi.cuny.edu
2174
Room 201
2S    
2S
Primary Coordinator
Karen Martucci 
karen.martucci@csi.cuny.edu
3700
Room 109
2S
Alternate Coordinator
Grace Ann Rispoli
graceann.rispoli@csi.cuny.edu
3700
Room 109
3S    
3S
1st Floor
Walter Palmer
walter.palmer@csi.cuny.edu
3698
Room 209
3S
2nd  Floor
Marge Nichols 
margaret.nichols@csi.cuny.edu
3716
Room 208
4S    
4S
Primary Coordinator
Claire Kissinger
claire.kissinger@csi.cuny.edu
4127
Room 108
4S
Alternate Coordinator
Victoria Baker
Victoria.baker@csi.cuny.edu
3783
Room 108C
5S    
5S
Primary Coordinator
 Susan Chapman 
susan.chapman@csi.cuny.edu
3810
Room 213
5S
Alternate Coordinator
Eileen Quagliano
eileen.quagliano@csi.cuny.edu
3833
Room 214A
6S    
6S
Primary Coordinator
Tom Brown 
thomas.brown@csi.cuny.edu
4122
Room 146
6S
Alternate Coordinator
Abraham Malz abraham.malz@csi.cuny.edu 3904
Room 241
6S
Evening Coordinator
Joseph Rizzi 
joseph.rizzi@csi.cuny.edu
3946
Room 250

Administrative Building Coordinators & Fire Wardens

Building / Floor Name Ext. / Room
1A    
1A
Primary Coordinator
Mary Murphy
mary.murphy@csi.cuny.edu
2387 
Room 109D
1A
1st Floor Coordinator
Michelle Karpeles
Michelle.karpeles@csi.cuny.edu
2392
Room 109
1A
1st Floor Alternate
Barbara Volpe
barbara.volpe@csi.cuny.edu
2305
Room 105
1A
2nd  Floor Coordinator
Toni Gill
Toni.gill@csi.cuny.edu
2684
Room 204
1A
2nd Floor Alternate
Manuel Gonzalez manuel.gonzalez@csi.cuny.edu 2310
Room 201
1A
3rd Floor Coordinator
Margaret Fuller
margaret.fuller@csi.cuny.edu
2248
Room 305
1A
3rd Floor Coordinator
Lynn Furnell
Lynn.furnell@csi.cuny.edu
2335
Room 301
1A
4th Floor Coordinator
Debbie Mahoney
debbie.mahoney@csi.cuny.edu
2400
Room 404
2A    
2A
Primary Coordinator
Robert Wilson 
robert.wilson@csi.cuny.edu
2113
Room 108A
2A
Alternate Coordinator
Philippe Marius
Philippe.marius@csi.cuny.edu
2607
Room 401D
2A
Alternate Coordinator
Robert Yurman
robert.yurman@csi.cuny.edu
2114
Room 108B
2A
Alternate Coordinator
William Dalton 
william.dalton@csi.cuny.edu
2119
Room 108
2A
1st Floor Coordinator
Doug McGowan
doug.mcgowan@csi.cuny.edu
2076
Room 103
2A
2nd Floor Coordinator
Christine Flynn Saulnier 
christine.flynnsaulnier@csi.cuny.edu
2020
Room 201
2A
2nd Floor Coordinator
Ilyssa Silfen
Ilyssa.silfen@csi.cuny.edu
2070
Room 201
2A
3rd Floor Coordinator
Douglas Rokicki
Douglas.rokicki@csi.cuny.edu
2312
Room 314
2A
4th Floor Coordinator
Theresa Grysman
Theresa.grysman@csi.cuny.edu
2607
Room 401B
3A    
3A
Primary Coordinator
MaryJeanne Hennessy
Maryjeanne.hennessy@csi.cuny.edu
2296
Room 106
3A
Alternate Coordinator
Maria Xenakis
maria.xenakis@csi.cuny.edu
2457
Room 203
3A
1st Floor Coordinator
Kiesha Stewart
Kiesha.stewart@csi.cuny.edu
2163
Room 102
1M    
1M
Primary Coordinator
Mike DiMarco
michael.dimarco@csi.cuny.edu
3202
Boiler Room

Other Building Coordinators & Fire Warden

Building / Floor Name Ext. / Room
Library    
1C
Primary Coordinator
Gregory Brown 
gregory.brown@csi.cuny.edu
3189
Room 201
1C
1st Floor
Laura Mario
laura.mario@csi.cuny.edu
3051
Room 106
1C
2nd Floor
Georgia Geraghty    georgia.geraghty@csi.cuny.edu 3035
Room 208
1C
3rd Floor
Carol Brower 
carol.brower@csi.cuny.edu
3088
Room 201
Library    
1L
Primary Coordinator
Wilma Jones
wilma.jones@csi.cuny.edu
4024
Room 109C
1L
Alternate Coordinator
Mark Lewental
mark.lewental@csi.cuny.edu
4013
Room 201B
Center for the Arts    
1P
Primary Coordinator
John Jankowski
john.jankowski@csi.cuny.edu
2506
Room 116C
1P
Alternate Coordinator
Stefan Charles-Pierre 
Stefan.charles-pierre@csi.cuny.edu 
2553
Room 101C
1P
2nd Floor
Craig Manister
craig.manister@csi.cuny.edu
2553
Room 203D
Sports & Rec (Gym)    
1R
Primary Coordinator
Edward Buttle 
eddie.buttle@csi.cuny.edu
3130
Room 204
1R
Alternate Coordinator
Anthony Avena
anthony.avena@csi.cuny.edu
3151
Room 204D
Children’s Center    
2R
Primary Coordinator
Cynthia Murphy
cynthia.murphy@csi.cuny.edu
3190
Room 104
2R
Alternate Coordinator
Tina DiCarlo
Tina.decarlo@csi.cuny.edu
3190
Room 104


back to top


Civil Disturbance

Most demonstrations such as marches, meetings, picketing and rallies are peaceful and non-obstructive. However, demonstrations can become disruptive if one or more of the following conditions exist:

Interference with the normal operations of the college.

  • Prevention of access to an office, building or other college facility.
  • Threat of physical harm to persons or damage to college facilities.
  • Disorderly conduct which disturbs the campus or community.

If any of these conditions exist, contact Public Safety at ext. 2111 and report the location, nature and size of the disturbance.

Continue as much as possible with your normal routine. If the disturbance is outside, stay away from doors and windows.

Avoid provoking or obstructing demonstrators. Do not interfere with those persons creating the disturbance or law enforcement authorities on the scene.

back to top


Crimes in Progress