Open menu button Close menu button

About CUNY

About CUNY

The City University of New York

The City University of New York (CUNY), of which the College of Staten Island is a part, traces its beginning to 1847 and a public referendum that provided tuition-free higher education for residents of New York City. The municipal college system grew rapidly and its various colleges were consolidated as The City University of New York by an act of the New York State Legislature in 1961. CUNY comprises 11 senior colleges, six community colleges, a graduate school, a law school, and a medical school. It is the largest municipal college system and the third largest university in the nation. Read more......

The Board of Trustees

CUNY is governed by the Board of Trustees composed of 17 members, ten of whom are appointed by the Governor of New York State, and five by the Mayor of New York City. The chairperson of the University Faculty Senate serves ex officio, without vote; the chairperson of the University Student Senate serves ex officio, with vote. The individual colleges of CUNY have considerable latitude in governing their own affairs through various bodies representing faculty, students, and administrators. The Board of Trustees decides overall University policy and approves major new collegiate plans and programs.