College of Staten Island Self-Study

    As an accredited institution under the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE), CSI launched its Self-Study process in spring 2020. The Self-Study is part of the College’s ongoing cycle of accreditation. It is designed to engage the entire College community in a self-reflective process of how it is doing in relation to its mission and goals aligned with the Middle States standards for accreditation. The process will also identify opportunities for improvement and innovation, and prepare the College for the years ahead. CSI’s Self-Study will run through May 2022. 

    Involvement from all members of the College community is essential to having a successful Self-Study. Your participation in the process is encouraged at any time. Please do not hesitate to contact the Self-Study Steering Committee at

    Steering Committee and Working Groups

    The Self-Study Steering Committee is comprised of the Provost, the Steering Committee co-chairs, the Self-Study coordinator, and the co-chairs of each of the Self-Study Working Groups. The Working Group co-chairs are listed below. The appointment of Working Group members is currently in progress. 

    There are eight Working Groups, one for each of the Middle States Standards and the Verification of Compliance. The members of the Self-Study Working Groups will represent their respective areas of the College in the Self-Study process and assist with the gathering and analysis of evidence as well as the written reflection of the Self-Study. 

    Steering Committee Co-Chairs: 

    • Christopher Miller, Professor, English
    • Margaret-Ellen (Mel) Pipe, Associate Provost for Graduate Studies, Research, and Institutional effectiveness


    • Tara Mastrorilli, Director of Institutional Research


    • J. Michael Parrish, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

    Working Group #1: Mission and Goals

    • Jennifer Borrero, Vice President for Student Affairs and Alumni Engagement
    • Wilma Jones, Professor and Reference/Instruction Librarian

    Working Group #2: Ethics and Integrity

    • Kathleen M. Cumiskey, Professor, Psychology
    • Marcus C. Tye, Dean of the School of Health Sciences

    Working Group #3: Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience

    • Alyson Bardsley, Associate Professor, English
    • Sarolta A. Takács, Dean of the Division of Humanities and Social Sciences

    Working Group #4: Support of the Student Learning Experience

    • Stephen Ferst, Executive Director of the Center for Global Engagement
    • Nelly Tournaki, Professor, Educational Studies

    Working Group #5: Educational Effectiveness Assessment

    • Michael J. Cavagnero, Dean of the Division of Science and Technology
    • Carlo Lancellotti, Professor, Mathematics

    Working Group #6: Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement

    • Hope Berte, Vice President for Campus Planning, Facilities Management and Operations
    • Jonathan Peters, Professor, Accounting and Finance

    Working Group #7: Governance, Leadership, and Administration

    • Robert Wallace, Chief of Staff/Deputy to the President/Executive Legal Counsel 
    • John Wing, Associate Professor, History

    Working Group #8: Verification of Compliance

    • Kerri Gerson, Registrar
    • Margaret-Ellen (Mel) Pipe, Associate Provost for Graduate Studies, Research, and Institutional Effectiveness and Accreditation Liaison Officer

    The Self-Study Process 

    The Self-Study consists of the Self-Study Design, the Self-Study Report and the Self-Study On-Site Visit. 

    Self-Study Design. The design document is written by the Steering Committee and serves as a guide for the Self-Study process. It includes information on the College’s priorities, intended outcomes, organizational structure of the Steering Committee and Working Groups, guidelines for reporting, a communications plan, and a Self-Study timeline. To review the Middle States approved Self-Study Design, click the following link and log in using your CSI log-in information: Self-Study Design.    

    Self-Study Report. The report consists of a written reflection and analysis of the institution’s mission and goals in relation to the Middle States Standards. This work occurs in the 2020-2021 academic year and is overseen and coordinated by Self-Study co-chairs, the Steering Committee, and working groups. 

    Self-Study On-Site Visit. The visit is conducted by an Evaluation Team comprised of our peers and will occur in the 2021-2022 academic year. The peer reviewers are selected by Middle States and consists of volunteers from other Middle States accredited institutions. An initial visit with the Evaluation Team chair occurs in Fall 2021 and helps us prepare for the Evaluation Team visit that will occur in Spring 2022. The Evaluation team reviews the Self-Study report, meets with a variety of College stakeholders, and then provides a written analysis of their evaluation to Middle States about whether or not we are in compliance with the Standards. Middle States then reviews the Evaluation Team report and determines accreditation.

    Self-Study Timeline

    Oct - Dec 2019
    • Attend Self-Study Institute
    • Develop action plan to begin Self-Study
    Jan 2020 - Mar 2020
    • Identify co-chairs, Steering Committee, and Working Groups
    Apr 2020 - Jun 2020
    • Write draft of Self-Study Design
    • Submit Self-Study Destign to Middle States Liaison
    July 2020
    • Organize Online Evidence Inventory
    Sep 2020
    • Finalize and Invite Working Group members
    • Write draft outline of chapters and identify evidence needed
    • Submit Final Self-Study Destign to Middle States Liaison
    Oct 1, 2020
    • Host virtual Self-Study Preparations Visit
    Oct 2020 
    • Review and analyze evidence, write summaries and submit to Steering Committee
    Nov 2020 - Dec 18, 2020
    • Incorporate Steering Committee’s feedback and submit second draft
    Jan 2021 - Feb 2021
    • Review narrative, provide feedback and write additional sections of the report
    • Revise chapters as needed
    Mar 2021
    • Compile sections of Self-Study Document into one document
    • Share Self-Study Document with the College community
    May 2021 
    • Finalize Self-Study Document, with feedback from College community
    Jun 2021 - Aug 2021
    • Produce first draft of complete Self-Study Report and finalize Evidence Inventory
    • MSCHE selects Evaluation Team members
    Sep 2021
    • College community reviews final draft of Self-Study Report
    Oct 2021
    • Evaluation Team Chair makes preliminary visit
    Jan 2022
    • Make final revisions to the Self-Study document
    • Final Self-Study document submitted
    Feb 2022 - Mar 2022
    • CSI hosts MSCHE Evaluation Team Visit, receives and reviews Evaluation Team report and submits response to Evaluation Team report
    June 2022
    • MSCHE reviews Evaluation Team report, CSI response, and determines action