Open menu button Close menu button

Physics and Astronomy

Physics and Astronomy Department Overview

See our Astrophysical Observatory!​

College of Staten Island Virtual Tour

Welcome to the CSI Department of Physics and Astronomy!  The faculty, undergraduates, and graduate students of the Department conduct leading-edge research in numerous areas of study including astrophysics and cosmology; theoretical and experimental condensed matter physics; theoretical nuclear and high-energy physics; photonics; and nanotechnology.  We offer undergraduate Bachelor's of Science degrees in Physics (major and minor), including degrees with a focus in Astrophysics or in Teaching (grades 7-12).  We also mentor and advise Ph.D. students in Physics and Astronomy through our consortium partnership with the CUNY Graduate Center; and we provide service courses in astronomy and physics to more than 2,000 CSI students each year.

Irving K. Robbins, Observatory Director
 

Last First EMAIL
Agcaian  Peter  Peter.Agcaian@csi.cuny.edu 
Beyer  Steven  Steven.Beyer@csi.cuny.edu 
Brady  Patricia  Patricia.Brady@csi.cuny.edu 
Drenscko  Mihaela  Mihaela.Drenscko@csi.cuny.edu 
Griffiths  William  William.Griffiths@csi.cuny.edu 
Haldolaarachchige  Neel  Neel.Haldolaarachchige@csi.cuny.edu
Hettiarachchilage Kalani  Kalani.Hettiarachchilage@csi.cuny.edu
Jackson  Alia  Alia.Jackson@csi.cuny.edu 
Kolkas  Mossbah  Mossbah.Kolkas@csi.cuny.edu 
Kraynova  Margarita  Margarita.Kraynova@csi.cuny.edu 
LaCurtis  William  William.Lacurtis@csi.cuny.edu 
Lane  Kevin  Kevin.Lane@csi.cuny.edu 
Malikova  Lyudmila  Lyudmila.Malikova@csi.cuny.edu 
Marinelli  Susan  Susan.Marinelli@csi.cuny.edu 
Marino  Francesco  Francesco.Marino@csi.cuny.edu 
Poppe  George  George.Poppe@csi.cuny.edu 
Shopova  Siyka  Siyka.Shopova@csi.cuny.edu 
Torres Jose Jose.Torres@csi.cuny.edu 
Weinstock  Harvey  Harvey.Weinstock@csi.cuny.edu 

Office Administration

Marie Gomes            Marie.Gomes@csi.cuny.edu
 

College Lab Technician

Tracy Campbell             Tracy.Campbell@csi.cuny.edu
Jackeline Figueroa        Jackie.Figueroa@csi.cuny.edu
Matthew Miller               Matthew.Miller@csi.cuny.edu
Victoria Rivelli               Victoria.Rivelli@csi.cuny.edu

January 2022

1. Our physics club is back in motion! The first two online events this year are scheduled to be on January 27 and February 8, between 3:30 pm and 4:00 pm. They feature Prof. Organesyan and Prof. Gorokhovsky, who will talk about their work before departing for their sabbatical leaves. The Zoom link can be found here, and please reach out to Prof. Liu for the password.


December 2021

1. NASA's Webb telescope was launched to observe first galaxies and distant worlds. Find out more about it here.


October 2021

1. Prof. Liu was featured in CUNY TV's recent Urban U series.


September 2021

1. Prof. Oganesyan organized a mini-symposium on many-body localization. See info and sign-up link here.

2. Prof. Ge organized a mini-symposium on non-Hermitian photonics. See info and sign-up link here.

Joint Appointment

Alfred Levine Joint Appointment With Department of Engineering  and Environmental Science


Astrophysical Observatory Telescope

Astrophysical Observatory

Our Astrophysical Observatory is dedicated to ongoing educational opportunities and the environmental needs of the present.

Computer Science / Engineering Science and Physics Building
1N-226
2800 Victory Boulevard, Staten Island NY 10314

Department Contact

Professor Charles Liu

Interim Chair

Email Professor Charles Liu

Marie Gomes

Department Administrator

Email Marie Gomes