Skip to main content
Main Navigation
NavigationSuper Navigation

Physics and Astronomy

Large Hadron Collider (Maximilien Brice/CERN)
Neutron Star E0102 (NASA)
Total Solar Eclipse, August 21, 2017
Whirlpool Galaxy and NGC 5195 (NOAO)

Department overview

Welcome to the CSI Department of Physics and Astronomy!  The faculty, undergraduates, and graduate students of the Department conduct leading-edge research in numerous areas of study including astrophysics and cosmology; theoretical and experimental condensed matter physics; theoretical nuclear and high-energy physics; photonics; and nanotechnology.  We offer undergraduate Bachelor's of Science degrees in Physics (major and minor), including degrees with a focus in Astrophysics or in Teaching (grades 7-12).  We also mentor and advise Ph.D. students in Physics and Astronomy through our consortium partnership with the CUNY Graduate Center; and we provide service courses in astronomy and physics to more than 2,000 CSI students each year.

View all courses here

Faculty & Staff

Full Time Faculty

Adjunct Faculty

Irving K. Robbins, Observatory Director

 

Last First EMAIL
Agcaian  Peter  Peter.Agcaian@csi.cuny.edu 
Beyer  Steven  Steven.Beyer@csi.cuny.edu 
Brady  Patricia  Patricia.Brady@csi.cuny.edu 
Drenscko  Mihaela  Mihaela.Drenscko@csi.cuny.edu 
Griffiths  William  William.Griffiths@csi.cuny.edu 
Haldolaarachchige  Neel  Neel.Haldolaarachchige@csi.cuny.edu
Hettiarachchilage Kalani  Kalani.Hettiarachchilage@csi.cuny.edu
Jackson  Alia  Alia.Jackson@csi.cuny.edu 
Kolkas  Mossbah  Mossbah.Kolkas@csi.cuny.edu 
Kraynova  Margarita  Margarita.Kraynova@csi.cuny.edu 
LaCurtis  William  William.Lacurtis@csi.cuny.edu 
Lane  Kevin  Kevin.Lane@csi.cuny.edu 
Malikova  Lyudmila  Lyudmila.Malikova@csi.cuny.edu 
Marinelli  Susan  Susan.Marinelli@csi.cuny.edu 
Marino  Francesco  Francesco.Marino@csi.cuny.edu 
Poppe  George  George.Poppe@csi.cuny.edu 
Shopova  Siyka  Siyka.Shopova@csi.cuny.edu 
Torres Jose Jose.Torres@csi.cuny.edu 
Weinstock  Harvey  Harvey.Weinstock@csi.cuny.edu 

Staff

Office Administration


Marie Gomes            Marie.Gomes@csi.cuny.edu
Jennifer Mesisca       Jennifer Mesisca@csi.cuny.edu
Michele Pignalosa     Michele.Pignalosa@csi.cuny.edu

 

College Lab Technician

Tracy Campbell             Tracy.Campbell@csi.cuny.edu
Jackeline Figueroa        Jackie.Figueroa@csi.cuny.edu
Matthew Miller              Matthew.Miller@csi.cuny.edu
Victoria Rivelli               Victoria.Rivelli@csi.cuny.edu
Thomas Rodberg          Thomas.Rodberg@csi.cuny.edu

Computer Science / Engineering Science and Physics Building
1N-226
2800 Victory Boulevard, Staten Island NY 10314

Department Contact

Vadim Oganesyan
Professor and Department Chair
Phone : 718.982.2825
Contact Via Email
Marie Gomes
Administrative Assistant
Phone : 718.982.2825
Contact Via Email
Michele Pignalosa/Jennifer Mesisca
Administrative Assistants
Phone : 718.982.2800