Open menu button Close menu button

Media Culture

Advising for Winter and Spring 2024

Registration for the Winter and Spring 2024 semesters will begin in October at a date to be announced.  Your faculty advisor can remove advising stops, help you choose classes, and make sure that you are on track to fulfill degree requirements. Click here for tips on preparing for advisement.  

For help with other department business please contact CUNY Administrative Assistant Gary Pizzolo at

Film/Video Lab and Design and Digital Media Lab

Hours for the Film/Video Lab are Monday through Thursday 11 am - 4 pm, Friday by appointment only. 

For any questions regarding the labs please email or

Media Culture Department Overview

The Department of Media Culture is committed to providing students with a critical understanding of film, media, and communications. We integrate studies in history, theory, and criticism with practical experiences in production technique and creativity as well as external field experience, allowing our undergraduate majors to specialize in cinema studies or film and television production, media studies, corporate communications, journalism, or design and digital media.

What are some obtainable jobs with degrees in Communications or Cinema Studies?

  • Careers in Journalism for Radio, TV, Print, Digital, and Sports Media
  • Film, Television, Radio, Documentary, and Podcast Production
  • Digital Arts including Graphic Design, Photo Editing, and Layout Artist
  • Corporate Communications, Public Relations, Brand Development, Marketing, Advertising, and Social Media Strategy
  • Web Development, and Web Design
  • Video Editing, Camera Operations, Cinematography, Sound Editing/Mixing, and Lighting Design

An introductory workshop in the basic techniques of video production.


Introduces students to the range of basic skills - blogging, online reporting, podcasting, online video and audio - necessary to operate successfully in the world of online journalism.


Explores the principles and techniques of data visualization: the journalistic possibilities, visual power, political persuasiveness, and ethical considerations of transforming data into visual graphic form.

Media Culture News

Grant, Emmanuel
Senior College Laboratory Technician

Hager, Steven
College Assistant

Lovell, Mitchell
College Laboratory Technician

Neuner Fabiano, Rosemary
College Assistant

Pizzolo, Gary
CUNY Administrative Assistant



  • Cogan, Brian 
  • Dawoud, Aliaa 
  • DeWaters, Dillon
  • Dougherty, Cecilia 
  • Fischetti, Michael
  • Hager, Steven  
  • Hedditch, Emma 
  • Kenny, James 
  • Kovacs, Rachel
  • Lee, Austin 
  • McGuire, Bridget
  • Palladino, Andrew 
  • Richardson, Zardon
  • Saputo, Doug
  • Wang, Jing
  • Yakobzon, Erica 
Media Studies Film / Video Lab Control Room

This lab is the center of all Cinema production classes as well as TV and radio production. It is the heart of all film and television post-production.

CSI Design and Digital Lab

This lab is used for Communications production classes that focus on print and web based graphic design, typography, digital photography, animation and online.

Center for the Arts
Building 1P, Room 226
Willowbrook Campus

Department Contact

Cynthia Chris

Chair & Professor

Email Cynthia Chris

Gary Pizzolo

CUNY Administrative Assistant

Email Gary Pizzolo

Rosemary Neuner Fabiano

College Assistant