Psychology Department Overview

The Psychology Department at the College of Staten Island embodies the College's commitment to educational excellence through scholarship, service, and teaching.  We provide our students with a comprehensive understanding of the scientific study of behavior and experience through our broad curriculum. We foster critical thinking through a variety of research and internship opportunities. 

The Master of Arts in Clinical Mental health Counseling is accredited by the Masters in Psychology and Counseling Accreditation Council (MPCAC)

Lella, Cheryl
Senior Academic Adviser

Kissinger, Claire
CUNY Administrative Assistant

Jill Levenberg

Delahunt, Lorianne
CMHC Academic Specialist

Arout, Caroline 
Ataman, Aysenur 
Aum, Sangweon 
Bublitz, Dennis 
Caldwell, Megan 
Caplin, Daniel 
Cutler, Stuart 
DeNigris, Danielle 
Dufort, Dawn 
Emode, Michele 
Falder, Evie 
Galazyn, Magdalena 
Giaramita, Debra 
Green, Neila 
Guinta, Jennifer 
Herrera, Ralph 
Hoffnung, Gabriel 
Hollan, Joann 
Johnson, Alisa 
Keeney, Elizabeth 
Kerr, Daniel 
Klemuk, Gary 
LaMassa, Nicole 
Lara, Aline 
Lim, Joy 
Maramarco, Anna 
Martino, Laura 
Mason, Zachary 
Misak, Mirette 
Neuwirth, Lorenz 
Porcell, Victoria 
Rappaport, Eva 
Rotondo, Louis 
Sajadian, Asghar 
Scott, Tanya 
Shohatee, Tovyk 
Tabib, Shai 
Tenney, Lauren 
Tornyova, Lidiya 
Toropova, Kristina 
Vega, George 
Ziai, Reza 

Psi Chi Honor Society

Psychology students participate in Psi Chi, the International Honor Society in Psychology, founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology. Membership is open to graduate and undergraduate men and women who are making the study of psychology one of their major interests, and who meet the minimum qualifications. Psi Chi is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is an affiliate of the American Psychological Association (APA) and the Association for Psychological Science (APS).

Research Opportunities on-campus include:

Psychology/Sociology and Anthropology Building
Building 4S, Room 108
Willowbrook Campus

Psychology Department Contact

Comfort Asanbe


Email Comfort Asanbe

Darryl Hill

Deputy Chair

Email Darryl Hill

Frances Meléndez

Director, Clinical Mental Health Counseling M.A. Program

Email Frances Meléndez